The glorious and triumphant return of now-19 year old Blogger, the revival of a once-grand and dare I say influential webspace that produced daily content, and the crippling anxiety of a young woman who no longer has any time or motivation to write, and feels like any ability she had acquired in the past through repetition and sheer will alone is now slowly slipping out of her grasp. Brief history of the Blog and Blogger can be found here.

Here be personal journal entries, observations, slices of life, questions and conclusions, as well as exploration of social and political topics seen through the lens of a Malaysian Muslim, feminist, lesbian, Marxist, and horse enthusiast.

Sunday, November 20, 2011

And If You're Partial to the Night Sky

I'm in a nostalgic mood today (which seems to be my default setting for the past few days so no surprise there) so it's been episode after episode of a Doctor Who rewatch and going through my old books. I know I've read a lot of books. I feel as if I've read a lot of books. But the strange thing is that I just can't seem to find any of them. My favorites, I mean. There's only a handful of books that I even remember reading and a bunch that I distinctly remember not getting around to reading yet and then the rest is just one big question mark. I think I have somewhere around forty to fifty percent of the books I've bought and something like thirty percent of the books I've read, the rest having been obtained from friends, libraries and read online.

Since I'm already feeling like this anyways and both VideoWeed and Megavideo are being a pain in the ass, I thought I'd make a post listing some of my favorite books from my nine till twelve years. It was on and off fantasy, a little bit of "grown-up" books (which basically means chick lit with some sex scenes scattered in it), and a steady stream of contemporary young adult books which were truly, truly young adult. But those were the good years, as they say.

15. My Desperate Love Diary by Kelly Ann (Liz Rettig)
A lot of people bought this book when I was in Standard 5, maybe 6, because of its pretty cover and I'll admit, that's why I bought it, too, but it's actually a really good book, in the vein of Princess Diaries and Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging. More like the latter, because it's English. Funny, cute, very, very light read. I've always wanted to read the sequel but couldn't find it anywhere. 

14. Click (a lot of people, including Eoin Colfer, Nick Hornby, Roddy Doyle, Gregory Maguire)
It's something like one story, written by ten people and I remember thinking it was a brilliant book but I can't remember a single thing about it at the moment, so of course this calls for a reread! A lot of people asked me to lend the book, but I don't think I ever got around to doing that because everyone just forgot. I remember hating the final chapter, though, because it was too freaky. 

13. Dragon's Rock (Tim Bowler)
Another book I can't remember a single line of. I do remember reading it while I was at my grandparents' and it was raining and it rained a lot in the book or something like that. It was a really spooky story. I think I got nightmares from it for several nights. At the time, I really, really loved this book and the only reason it's not lower on the list is because I honestly just can't remember a single thing.

12. The Princess School series (Jane B. Mason and Sarah Hines Stephens)
This one's a bit embarrassing, actually, but come on! I loved The Princess School even though I was what? Eleven? Twelve? Whatever. I always saw these books on those Scholastic catalogs they send to schools and I'd buy them every single time. Basically, it's Cinderella, Snow White, Rapunzel and Briar Rose all going to a Princess School and if that's not enough, there's also a neighboring school for princes as well. The story goes like the fairy tales do: Cinderella going to a ball, Snow and her stepmother having a 'fairest of them all' contest, Rapunzel and Gothel, and I can't remember what else. But it was seriously a fun read.

11. Inkheart (Cornelia Funke)
I love this book and the quotes before each chapter and the description of the library and everything about it. The movie sucked. The end. (Regretfully, I have yet to read the later installments in the series.)

10. Princess Diaries series (Meg Cabot)
I went on a bit of a Princess stage, if that's not obvious enough. But I don't really see any reason for someone to not like the Princess Diaries. It's funny, it's feelgood, it's got romance and a little bit of mystery, I guess, but mostly it's just a bucket of laughs and it's my go-to set of books for flights. My favorite's Forever Princess, the tenth one, because it was really nice to see Mia get her happily ever after, and really, I just wanted to include just that one book in the list but I read that in Form 2. 

9. Ophelia (Lisa Klein)
Another book that I can't quite remember reading, but I remember liking it so much I read it a few times. And then a friend of mine borrowed it for a year and when I got it back I read it a couple more times again. You'd think I'd remember whether it was good or bad but I can't. It's probably crap if I read it now but I think I owe it to this book for introducing me to the world of Shakespeare because I started reading Hamlet after this. The book's about Ophelia, that crazy girl in Hamlet, and it's just basically the entire story from her perspective, which seems kind of boring now that I compare it to Hamlet. 

8. Midnight (Jacqueline Wilson)
Midnight's my absolute favorite book of Jacqueline Wilson's, but it's not the only book of hers on this list and it sits higher up for some reason. I love the illustrations, I love her meeting Casper Dream and realizing he's just a big fat man and I love all the revelations that went on at her house but I especially love her doll tree thing. I don't know, I can't remember most of it, obviously, but I've long since decided that this is my favorite Jacqueline Wilson book (and I've read many) and it also happens to be the first book of hers that I've read so if you've read a little Jacqueline Wilson but you haven't read Midnight, then you're missing out. 

7. The Lightning Thief (Rick Riordan) 
I remember reading this book and loving it and then forgetting all about it until a few years later. Anyways, this was my favorite in the series mainly because everything felt so new and fresh and I remember hating the first few chapters, before he got to the camp, but then I ended up loving the book so much because of all the pit stops they went to along the way. The movie was horrendous and the fact that people started to get into the series sometime around the release of the movie, when it was hyped within an inch of its life, is an insult to young adult literature.

6. Uglies trilogy (Scott Westerfeld)
I've read my fair share of YA dystopian novels but Uglies takes the cake. It kind of went downhill after the first book and I keep mixing it all up with The Hunger Games in my head now but I actually, literally love everything about the series and I'm so sad that I lost the first book. Everyone who's never read it should.

5. The Luxe series (Anna Godbersen)
I'm not ecstatic that she decided to write something similar but in the set in the '20s or something like that but I'd be straight up lying if I admitted to not loving the ever living crap out of The Luxe series. It's Gossip Girl in the 1800s but it's so much better than Gossip Girl because at least these people have a reason to be acting like whiny douchebags. Not much of a reason, but still. It's just such clever, clever, carefully woven plots that make me want to cry after every book.

4. Kiss (Jacqueline Wilson) 
I beg of you, please go out right this instance and buy this book. It's the first time I was exposed to a gay character so it was something new for me, at the time, and then later on, like sometime around last year, when I got around to rereading it, it just makes me want to cry and cry and listen to sad sappy songs and eat my way through several cans of Pringles because it's such a lovely story and I love every single character in it, even the douches. 

3. Matilda (Roald Dahl)
Matilda's the first real book I've read. I mean, before that, I was just reading those Enid Blyton book for kids and I know this is way, way earlier than the nine to twelve years of my life, but if I hadn't read Matilda, I probably wouldn't have wanted to read anymore books. I probably wouldn't have gone out and started reading all those novels with bright covers meant for young adults. I probably wouldn't have bought Harry Potter. So I owe a lot to Matilda. Also, she taught me what a limerick was.

2. The Candy Darlings (Chritine Walde)
A lot of people didn't like the book because of the main character and while I agree that she does have some Bella Swan tendencies and she's as big of a bitch as every other girl in the book, it was still an awesome book. I think I fell in love with it a little, just a little, because I thought it was going to be a normal young adult book but it really, really wasn't. It was creepy as hell and perverted in every way possible and best of all, it was all about candy. So I don't know about anyone else, but looking back, this was one of the few books that to this day, I still consider one of the tops of my favorites list. Read it. And weep at the brilliance.

1. The Seer and the Sword (Victoria Hanley) 
I don't actually know why I love this book so much, I just do. Literally, if someone asked me what my favorite book was, I would have answered with this. Now that I've read more genres, it's a little difficult to say, so I'll just probably go with my standard (and completely not boring) answer of Harry Potter but I used to say that this was my favorite all the time and in a way, it still is. I just don't know why but it is. If you like all that kings and castles stuff and don't mind a completely PG book, then you should really read this, and Victoria Hanley's other books (Healer's Keep, Light of the Oracle).

So that's my walk down memory lane for the day. Basically, to those reading this who likes to read, I highly recommend Kiss, The Candy Darlings and The Seer and the Sword just because I can. 

Methinks it's been too long since I've pulled an all-nighter for no apparent reason. So tonight's the night, I hope, because I want to get started on the Hitchhiker's trilogy and finish it up as soon as possible. See you on the other side of the sun!

No comments:

Post a Comment